Wheat Watchers

Preparedness and Planning Group

  • Get it Together

    Wheat Watchers meets monthly on the 3rd Wednesday at 7:00 pm at Kathy's house.

    We've talked the talk, now it's time to walk the walk. I'm letting the blog, newsletter and e-mail do most of the talking and leaving the meetings open for much more DOING!

  • Upcoming Events:

    • TUES April 17 - Homemade Mixes
    • TUES May 15 - TBA
    • TUES June 19 - TBA
    • TUES July 17 - TBA
    • RUES August 21 - TBA
  • Meta

Canning Sessions

Posted by imawheatwatcher on June 9, 2010

Don’t forget I have the Stake Canner at my house from June 8th til the 18th. If you didn’t get the sign ups and would like to come over to can your stuff call me or leave me a comment and I will get back to you!

I have several dates available still. Wednesday June 9th, Thursday June 10th, Friday June 11th and few hours on Saturday June 12th are still open. Plus the following week.

Some things I have found out since using the canner:

20 lb bags of rice: 4 cans
40 lb bag of diced dehydrated potatoes: 16 cans
50 lb bag of wheat: 20 cans

#10 cans – $.80
metal lid- $.21
plastic lid- $.07
oxygen absorber- $.08

One Response to “Canning Sessions”

  1. Launi said

    Sorry I totally messed this one up. Or, I should say, my broken car messed this one up. I’ll still need to go get powdered milk though…someday…

Leave a comment