Wheat Watchers

Preparedness and Planning Group

  • Get it Together

    Wheat Watchers meets monthly on the 3rd Wednesday at 7:00 pm at Kathy's house.

    We've talked the talk, now it's time to walk the walk. I'm letting the blog, newsletter and e-mail do most of the talking and leaving the meetings open for much more DOING!

  • Upcoming Events:

    • TUES April 17 - Homemade Mixes
    • TUES May 15 - TBA
    • TUES June 19 - TBA
    • TUES July 17 - TBA
    • RUES August 21 - TBA
  • Meta

Inspirational Sunday

Posted by imawheatwatcher on October 23, 2011

Today I am not going to be giving you a quote. Instead I thought I would give you a challenge.

Sometime today go into your storage room, closet, or pantry and take a good look at it. How does it make you feel? Safe, nervous, or near a heart attack?

I realized the other day that my 3 month supply has dwindled a lot. It is probably because I have been so tired and sick for the past 6 months that things have not been replaced like they should be.

So here is your challenge. Start small and you can do it. Today make a goal on how you can improve or build upon your storage. It can be a goal to buy one canned item a week or one freeze dried item a month. We can all do it and it should be done. Let’s see how we feel about our storage in 6 months or a year from now.

Good luck!

 

*If you are brave, post your goal in our comment section so we can see how to help each other out.

6 Responses to “Inspirational Sunday”

  1. Launi said

    I’m being brave. The storage room looks pretty good, but we need to sort it so that it is easier to find what we’re looking for…labels or something. That way we’ll know if we have something or not, instead of just having to go search through all the shelves.
    Goal: More order in the storage room.

    Thanks, Kathy.
    :}

  2. My goal is to get caught up on my 3 month supply. We are behind because of morning sickness but want to be caught up, if not ahead, by the time the baby comes. That only gives me until January. 😉

  3. Suzanne Lawrence said

    But that’s what the storage is for – to help you thru a difficult time in your life. My guess is it was nice not to HAVE to go to the store. No doubt you will be ahead of the game by the time the baby comes.

  4. […] you please go to Sunday’s post and let me know what your goal is? I am going to be using these in planning next year’s […]

  5. Lisa said

    I really need to take inventory, then I’ll know better where I need to focus. I do know that I need to go through the 72 hour kits to update and improve on them.

  6. Laurel said

    Goal: Not just ‘having’ what I have, but making sure I know everything I have (good ways to inventory), and how to use it all (because MacGyver could make due with gum and aluminum foil–could you?) … Here’s a nasty thought: If something in your food storage goes rancid, what’s the ‘worst’ that can happen to you if you eat it anyway, because it’s the only food you have access to? Another thought: If you don’t have enough TP (my biggest fear!), what are alternatives that can be used? Also, heat sources … Winter deaths are FAR above summer ones in crisis … Different things that can be done to prepare would mean more peace of mind (knowledgeably, because lighting something inside the house that causes toxic fumes would not end well) … These are things I feel I fall short on … Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
