Wheat Watchers

Preparedness and Planning Group

  • Get it Together

    Wheat Watchers meets monthly on the 3rd Wednesday at 7:00 pm at Kathy's house.

    We've talked the talk, now it's time to walk the walk. I'm letting the blog, newsletter and e-mail do most of the talking and leaving the meetings open for much more DOING!

  • Upcoming Events:

    • TUES April 17 - Homemade Mixes
    • TUES May 15 - TBA
    • TUES June 19 - TBA
    • TUES July 17 - TBA
    • RUES August 21 - TBA
  • Meta

Food Storage Recipe Monday

Posted by imawheatwatcher on October 3, 2011

I thought that it would be a great use of this blog to post food storage friendly recipes every Monday. I have gotten several comments that people would LOVE more recipes. If you have a recipe that you love and would like to share, please email it to me!

Today’s post isn’t a recipe. It is more of a guideline or a suggestion for some supplies in your long and short food storage.

In the past 6 months (since I found out I was pregnant) my energy levels have been really low. It seems to get worse when it is time to think of what to make for dinner.  We don’t mind going out to eat and actually have a small budget for it, however, with feeding 6 people that budget doesn’t seem to go far. Also my husband is willing to help with dinner but I can only eat so much pasta. Love ya honey 😉 So in my desperation to feed my family and still stay in my budget I started researching solutions. I can up with one. It is called Everyday Emergency meals. These are meals that are bought frozen or boxed that I can use quickly to help calm down the hungry children.

Here are a few of the things I try to keep on hand:

Stoufer’s frozen lasagna or ravioli

Hamburger helper

dehydrated meals that just require hot water (these are great to have in your food storage anyway and this helps with rotating them)

Besides having these on hand I also have a sandwich night once a week. It can be grilled cheese with tomato soup, BLT’s, or just cold cuts either way they are really easy to make and help keep the budget down.

I hope these suggestions have helped. Have any other ideas? Please share! I love getting comments.

3 Responses to “Food Storage Recipe Monday”

  1. I forgot to add one more thing…If you are organized and make a nice homemade lasagna or a casserole that you can easily double, do it. Then freeze the other one and you have that for another night’s dinner. That makes it even cheaper! 😉

  2. Oops…I realized I forgot one more thing (seriously this pregnancy brain drain). I also use my crock pot. If I remember to think of “What’s for dinner” in the morning I can usually start something and then that way when my energy drain happens I already have a meal ready and waiting.

  3. Launi said

    I love the convenience of the packaged meals like Hamburger Helper. I found a site the other day that posted the “homemade” versions of Hamburger Helper mixes, Rice-a-Roni and Pasta Roni mixes so that you can make up a bunch and have them ready at probably 1/5 the cost AND without any weird additives that we can’t pronounce.

    I think you might have fun with this.
    http://chickensintheroad.com/cooking/making-homemade-side-seasoningmixes/

    :}

Leave a Reply

 
