Wheat Watchers

Preparedness and Planning Group

  • Get it Together

    Wheat Watchers meets monthly on the 3rd Wednesday at 7:00 pm at Kathy's house.

    We've talked the talk, now it's time to walk the walk. I'm letting the blog, newsletter and e-mail do most of the talking and leaving the meetings open for much more DOING!

  • Upcoming Events:

    • TUES April 17 - Homemade Mixes
    • TUES May 15 - TBA
    • TUES June 19 - TBA
    • TUES July 17 - TBA
    • RUES August 21 - TBA
  • Meta

Food Storage Recipe Monday

Posted by imawheatwatcher on March 21, 2011

I thought that it would be a great use of this blog to post food storage friendly recipes every Monday. I have gotten several comments that people would LOVE more recipes. If you have a recipe that you love and would like to share, please email it to me!

Years ago when I was starting YW’s we had an overnight camping trip to get ready for Girl’s Camp. Remember, this was back in Ohio and we just went to a regular camping ground for Girl’s Camp. Anyway, we were supposed to bring a dinner to cook around a campfire. I told my Mom this and she prepared a tin foil dinner for me. I thought it was lame and told my Mom so but she just told me to trust her. When I arrived at the campsite all the girl’s were there and ready to cook. Most of them had hot dogs or picked up fast food on the way up there. When I pulled mine out I got several laughs. However, once it started cooking the smell was amazing. Everyone asked me what I had in there. I told them and once it was done cooking I was being begged and bribes were made for my meal. I, of course, said no and was glad I trusted my Mom. It was delicious!

Tin Foil Dinners

1 to 1-1/2 LB ground beef
4 16-inch squares aluminum foil
4 Carrots; sliced
1 can Potatoes; 16oz, sliced or 2 potatoes sliced
2 small green bell peppers; chopped
Dehydrated onion flakes
Worcestershire sauce
Salt & pepper to taste

Separate meat into 4 portions. Place each in the center of a square of foil. Top with equal portions of chopped carrots, potatoes and green peppers. Season with dehydrated onions, Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper to taste. Seal foil, checking for leaks. Place on hot coals for 10 to 15 minutes per side.

Makes 4 servings.

If you decide to make it in the oven you can bake it at 350 degrees for 45-60 minutes. There are so many things you can put in a tin foil dinner. You can do chicken or fish, add cream of chicken, mushroom, or celery soup, or cheese and it will be more like a stew. Remember if you are cooking a different meat the cook time will vary.

Leave a Reply

 
