Wheat Watchers

Preparedness and Planning Group

  • Get it Together

    Wheat Watchers meets monthly on the 3rd Wednesday at 7:00 pm at Kathy's house.

    We've talked the talk, now it's time to walk the walk. I'm letting the blog, newsletter and e-mail do most of the talking and leaving the meetings open for much more DOING!

  • Upcoming Events:

    • TUES April 17 - Homemade Mixes
    • TUES May 15 - TBA
    • TUES June 19 - TBA
    • TUES July 17 - TBA
    • RUES August 21 - TBA
  • Meta

Preparedness Kits Overview

Posted by imawheatwatcher on May 26, 2010

For those of you who weren’t able to come to our meeting, I thought it would be nice to fill you in on what is going on. As you may have noticed I am using this blog more. I find it is more helpful in keeping everyone on the same page, since 1-2 hour meetings once a month isn’t enough time. Every Sunday I post an inspirational thought, talk, or scripture; Monday is Food Storage Recipe day ( they are everyday recipes that can also be adapted to be food storage only); Tuesday is Important Info. Day (documents that need to be copied for your 72 hr. kits); Wednesday is anything day, it will be announcements, sum ups of previous meetings, and reminders; and Thursday is Item of the Week for our Preparedness kits. I will put an item that you need to gather every week so that in the end we will have all of our kits done and put together.

Disclaimer: I am in no way an excellent writer. I apologize now if my grammar, punctuation, or spelling is COMPLETELY off!

Here are the links for the handouts you missed.

Important Documents and Keys
Office Kit
Car Kit
Baby Diaper Bag Kit
72 hr. kit- a hard copy will be passed around in Relief Society in a few Sundays.

We also tried a 1200 calorie bar, MRE, and 2 different freeze dried ready to go meals (just add water). I am happy to announce that the calorie bar did not kill me. I will be honest that one was the one that made me queasy just to think about it. My daughter’s loved it as well. Another option for meals in 72 hr. kits are from this article in the Ensign. I suggest you read it. I found it extremely helpful and am using some of their suggestions in my families kits.

I hope this helps. Please email or call me with any questions. Steacey I have not forgotten about you. How are your recipes coming? 😉

One Response to “Preparedness Kits Overview”

  1. […] week get get a copy of the Office Kit contents. You can go here and download it. Just click on Office […]

Leave a Reply

 
